#reopen: a plea

This means so much more than reopening restaurants so I can go eat there.

This means so much more than opening stores so I can shop there.

This is a plea for my life. I sit here a college graduate, with $40,000 in student loans looming over my head. I sit here with a car in my driveway I can’t pay for. I sit here with animals who depend on me to feed them. And the money is gone.

This is a plea for my life. I’m on the verge of losing my stable employment. I’m approved for unemployment but have received $0 in the 6 weeks since, despite requesting funds. The $1200 ran out quickly. There is no promise of when money will come. There is no one who can give me the answers I am so desperate to find.

We as a society have been forced to become so helpless, all of a sudden I have become one of the needy and it’s so sobering and so horrifying. I would rather die of the coronavirus than feel this way any longer. To those of you who believe this shutdown is necessary, you are absolutely saying that my pain, our pain, is worth all of the “possible” safety this is giving you. This is about so much more than the superficial things you believe the #reopen movement means. Does my life matter? Do my future children’s lives matter?

This is a plea for my life.

Please let us live again.

The money is gone. Hope for the future is dwindling.

Please. #reopen

Leave a comment